Oh, Canada!


Canada’s amazing. It’s breath-taking, and I could not have asked God to send me to a more beautiful place. Here are some things I wrote in my journal when I first got here:

I cannot imagine anyone hating living where there is a view of these mountains. The view from our apartment is amazing. This is a dream come true!

God has abundantly blessed me. I have two new families, and I haven’t even been here that long. My supervising family, The Maddens, is amazing. Love and kindness radiate from that family like they eat and drink it. It is awesome to feel so loved so much already.

When we arrived at our host home, we were bombarded in the best way. Everyone was so excited to meet us. All six of them! I can tell they’re all bundles of energy. They’re all so welcoming and interested. I can’t wait to get to know them; it’s going to be fun!

Here’s a run-down of what I’ve done so far:
Wednesday– Alicia and Kevin took Cherie and me to lunch at a local seafood place. I had fish and chips, and it was SO good! The breading was way better than that crap they put on it in the States. 🙂

It was there that I got to know Kevin, Alicia, and Canada a little better. I found that God was speaking to me directly through my supervisors. He was letting me know something scary and exciting all at the same time. He was letting me know that I’m home. My six weeks here are going to be hard and challenging, but I’ll be home. I also got the feeling that I’ll be back. I don’t know where exactly or in what capacity, but I think Canada won’t have seen the last of me come July 19th.

After that realization, Alicia took Cherie and I to Starbucks and then to Wal-Mart. Haha… how American, right? Wrong. Kelowna has one Wal-Mart. It’s not a Super Center, and it’s not open 24 hours. Westbank, a ‘burb of Kelowna, has a Super Wal-Mart opening in September. Anyway, this Wal-Mart was small and clean and your eyes did not burn out from the florescent lights. It’s a great place to get souvenirs. 🙂

The express lanes were smart. There were 8 of them. People cued up outside the lanes, and there was a computer that told the next person where to go. It was a true express lane.

Then, Alicia took us to City Park. It’s a beautiful park. I was so struck by it that I forgot to take pictures, but I’ll take some the next time we go. We walked around for a while and talked; it was nice.

Later that evening, Alicia came to pick up Cherie, Cynthia (Host home mom), and I for a Bible/ book study. They’re studying Captivating. I met about 20 women from the church. They’re fantastic women. The love for God these women have is so authentic. I can’t wait for next Wednesday! Oh! Erica, the place we go for this study is at the top of a mountain where I can capture the entire city just like you wanted!

Today: Cherie and I helped Alicia and Kevin paint. They’re moving to Edmonton at the end of the summer, and we’re helping them get the house ready to sell. Then, she brought us home and we rested for a short while as Randy (host home dad) tried to fix our deadbolt. We had to get a new one. 🙂 We had dinner with the Nortons, and that was great fun. I got to interact with the kids. There are four of them– Danica and Bryana (twins, 14), Shayna (11), and Jacob (9). After dinner, Randy took Cherie, the twins, and I to their youth gathering. We picked up Noah (The Madden’s middle child. He’s 14 and their only biological son. There’s Michael, who is 18 and Taylor, who is 6.) on the way there. Their youth is a lot of fun and very passionate about the church. It was great to see that in those kids.

All in all, I love it here. I love the people and their accents. I am learning so much from them. It’s customary to take off your shoes before you enter the house. I remember that whenever I go to the Maddens’ or upstairs, but I sometimes forget in my own apartment! I usually remember about five minutes afterward. I have to remember that they use the Metric system up here. They actually dabble (as Randy put it) in American, but it’s mainly Metric. For the most part, Canadians are a lot more friendly than even most Southerners. Pedestrians are actually given the right of way. Go figure, eh?

Here are some pictures. I promise I’ll post more as I take them. I love you so much for reading this and supporting me. Here’s some fair warning: I might sound a little Canadian when I come back, and I will drink hot tea a lot more.

Love,
Jennifer

This entry was posted in The Mission and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh, Canada!

  1. Linda says:

    Please call me as soon as you get this. Cherie’s dad is worried. I Love You!

Leave a Reply

