Aha!


“the LORD God formed the man from the dust of the ground” Genesis 2:7a
“For the wages of sin is death.” Romans 6:23a
“By the sweat of your brow
you will eat your food
until you return to the ground,
since from it you were taken;
for dust you are
and to dust you will return.” Genesis 3:19

I know those are weighty verses, but things will get better. Today, I had a huge aha moment. That aha moment is proof that God has a sense of humor. Think what you may, but I am not a huge fan of The David Crowder Band. I think it’s his sound, but it’s just not my taste. While I was eating my lunch, “Wholly Yours” came on the radio. I was about to change the channel when this came through the speakers:

I am full of earth
You are heaven’s worth
I am stained with dirt, prone to depravity
You are everything that is bright and clean
The antonym of me
You are divinity
But a certain sign of grace is this
From a broken earth flowers come up
Pushing through the dirt

“I am full of earth” had a profound effect on me. Things started clicking in that moment. You see, I understand that Jesus died and rose three days later. I’ve been searching for clarity on exactly why he had to conquer death to defeat sin. But, that first line “I am full of earth” sang to me. Jesus defeated death. The first part of Romans 6:23 says that the wages of sin is death. God said in Genesis 3 that we’ll return to the earth because from the earth we came. Well, Jesus conquered that! He never returned to the earth because He was sinless while He was on this earth. Yes, he took on our sin and absorbed God’s wrath for that, but HE CONQUERED DEATH! The last half of Romans 6:23 says:

“but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

For that to happen, He had to defeat the grave. He never had to return to the earth. Though our bodies will return to the earth because of our sin nature, our saved souls will never taste death. Today was one of those moments where I went from knowing something about God to knowing Him more. It was beautiful, fun, and a good laugh at how He did it.

“On the first day of the week, very early in the morning, the women took the spices they had prepared and went to the tomb. They found the stone rolled away from the tomb, but when they entered, they did not find the body of the Lord Jesus. While they were wondering about this, suddenly two men in clothes that gleamed like lightning stood beside them. In their fright the women bowed down with their faces to the ground, but the men said to them, “Why do you look for the living among the dead? He is not here; he has risen! Remember how he told you, while he was still with you in Galilee: ‘The Son of Man must be delivered into the hands of sinful men, be crucified and on the third day be raised again.’ ” Then they remembered his words.” Luke 24:1-8

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

