Food That Never Gets Old


List 10 foods or dishes that you never tire of eating.

Every moving thing that lives shall be food for you. And as I gave you the green plants, I give you everything. Genesis 9:3

In no particular order:

  1. Hot braised chicken
  2. Apples and peanut butter
  3. Laughing Cow cheese
  4. My dad’s chicken casserole
  5. My grandmom’s squash casserole
  6. My Aunt Anne’s sweet potato soufflé
  7. Wallace Brunswick stew
  8. Hot, sweet pickles
  9. Spaghetti with simple meat sauce (Grandmom or Mom’s)
  10. Crème brûlée

Addition:

Foods I don’t voluntarily eat:

  1. Mayo aka “white death” unless I can’t taste it
  2. Beets, pickled or otherwise
  3. Anything that looks like an octopus

Weird things I’ve eaten (at least to me). Some good, some bad:

  1. Pâté
  2. Part of an orange peel (On a dare. I got $5. Also, 5th grade.)
  3. Shaved lamb
  4. Any number of unidentifiable meats while I was in Germany
  5. Pumpkin soup

What never gets old for you? What grosses you out? What is the weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten?

jc

This entry was posted in About the Author, No Category, Writing Workshop. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

