Easy as ABC?


Create a 26-line rhyming poem. Start the first with A, and go in alphabetical order.
**I went to a rhyming dictionary, and I chose to rhyme each line with write. I then chose 26 of those words/ phrases at random, and I’m making the poem fit. We’ll see how this goes!

A cat decided to write
Because
she didn’t want to fight.
“Cats
don’t write!” a dog said with a bite.
“Don’t
you know it’d be a sight?”
“Even
so!” the cat said with might.
“Felines
shine like the light.
Go
gently into that good night!
Hm.
That won’t work,” said the cat with no delight.
“I
know! I’ll write of a day of snowy white.
Just
gotta find my pen, and it will be alright.
Kitties
can write!” she said with a smile bright.
“Let’s
make it flow like Twelfth Night.
My
main character will be named Traffic Light.
No.
That’s dumb. Oh, who shall I invite
Over
to help with my plight?
Perhaps
that dog to be polite?
Quite
the chance to ignite
Roofus’
storytelling. Who will that excite?
Some
I’m sure. I’ll ask him tonight.”
Tomorrow
the dog will go carrying some spite
Unless
that cat serves some Sprite.
“Very
well. Sprite it is. Can you help me get it down from this height?”
“Why
of course,” said the dog. “I liken myself to a knight!
‘X’
marks the spot. There’s the Sprite! Why is this crawlspace so tight?”
“Y
ou’re a doof,” the cat said outright.
“Zealand’s
my name. And this poem desperately needs a rewrite.”

Wow. That was harder than I thought it would be.

This entry was posted in Writing Workshop. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

