What would you give up?


My good friend, Day, recently posted a blog that made me want to steal her idea. So, I did. Her post starts out:

I’ve thought a lot about the question, “What would you give up in order for someone to know Christ?” Ideally, we’d all answer, “Everything.” That’s easy enough to say out loud (or in your head), but when you get down to naming things in particular, it gets really hard. I did this once while I was in Germany, and it really makes your wheels turn. Here are a few things that I’d be willing to give up if it meant that someone would come to know my Savior. Some may seem silly–but they’re all things that, in the end, are very close to me.

Some simple things like:

  • Wallace BBQ and Chick-fil-A
  • Chocolate
  • Brewed tea
  • Coffee
  • Internet
  • The Braves
  • My pets

Some not so simple things like:

  • Music
  • My hearing
  • The ability to speak my heart language or understand anyone
  • The chance to see my family and friends
  • My comforts
  • My culture
  • My perceived happiness
  • My pride
  • …and ultimately my life.

I have given up some of these things, and I know people who have given up even more. If you have a list like this, you know how hard it is even if you are exactly where God has sent you. Almost everyday, I am faced with the conflict of sitting pretty in my air-conditioned house with my comparatively small struggles and completely depending on God and His Word.

I have to remember that we are called everyday to make disciples at the cost of my life no matter what that actually looks like.

What would you give up to see someone come to Christ? What have you given up? Do you know someone who has paid the ultimate price to see someone or a group come to know Christ?

Remember to pray for our persecuted brothers and sisters.

This entry was posted in The Mission. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What would you give up?

  1. Day says:

    It’s so tough to sit there and write those things, isn’t it? Thanks for giving me a shout, btw 🙂 miss you!

  2. Jason Martin says:

    Love this blog Jennifer. Really good stuff.

  3. Erica K says:

    I don’t want this to be the anti-comment, but something stuck me the other day and has been gnawing away at the wound ever since. Romans 9 and 2 Tim 2 both talk about vessels of honor and vessels of dishonor, and God’s mercy being the only determining factor in what/who is what.
    I’ve never heard the passages explained in any way that seemed satisfactory to me. It seems like God arbitrarily designates people for mercy and condemnation before any actions a made and that’s just…hmmm…
    At the end of the day, when I read What Are You Willing to Give Up… I think, “Depends. Can I be certain that what I’m giving up will change anything at all, or will I be giving up these important things for people who might not be designated as vessels of honor anyway?” It isn’t up for me to decide. I certainly do not know. But I couldn’t honestly–at this stage in my life–say that I’d give up my life without the certainty that it would lead someone else to life in Christ.
    This is coming from a Peace Corps volunteer. I’m honestly willing to give up most of the things listed just to help people with literacy, much less to come to know Christ. I’ve stopped short of giving the blood in my veins because 1.)I haven’t needed to 2.) I think I’d need some assurance that it would matter. Even Jesus had that…

    Did that make any sense at all?
    Erica

    • Jennifer C. says:

      It sure does make sense! I don’t know if I would be so willing if I didn’t know someone would be saved as a result of my death. It would make it that much harder. It’s a lot easier to say it on paper or blogper (?). Sometimes I really feel it, and sometimes I don’t. I should have put an aside that I’m not better than Peter when it comes to making bold claims like that.

Leave a Reply

