Why I’m a Georgia Tech fan


Before you click away and vow to never read my blog again, please hear me out.

hoopniks.com

Some people think I am a Tech fan because my dad is a Georgia fan. In my family, with a lot of a my friends, and at church, it would a heck of a lot easier to be a die-hard Georgia fan.

Some people would call me a fake Tech fan. Why? I don’t absolutely despise Georgia… unless they’re playing Tech. I enjoy SEC football a little more than some ACC match-ups. Don’t get me wrong; there are some ACC match-ups that do rival SEC. I’m also not saying that SEC is the end-all of college football. Have you seen the way the SEC East is playing this year?

Anyhoo. Back to the point of the post.

I am a Tech fan because Georgia Tech was in the running for colleges when I was a junior and senior in high school. I wanted to be an engineer. That’s right, folks. I love math and mathy sciences like Physics. As dorky as it seems, they excite and fascinate me, and I hate that I didn’t push harder when I was a senior when they refused to put me in AP Calculus. (As it turns out, I took two other awesome math classes my senior year. See, nerd.) Another top contender was the Coast Guard Academy.

You people don’t really know or understand how much I hated my English classes in high school. There was one I loved– 11th grade Mr. DeLeslie. He taught on another level. There are two or three people from high school you can ask whom can vouch for the day I said, “I will never NEVER be an English major in college. Never. Ever.” That was uttered around AP English test time. I still shudder… ew.

So there you have it. I am a math nerd stuck in an English major’s body. Don’t get me wrong, though. I love writing, editing, grammar, and I laugh at lit jokes that only English (and English Ed) majors get. I liken grammar to word math. I like formulas which is funny because my life looks nothing like I worked it out to be.

Maybe that’s why things are so crazy in my life– or in yours (not because of me, but because of…) pushing against what you’re made to do so you can do something that everyone else thinks is best. I gave into a weird kind of pressure when I became an English major. I did it because it was what I thought people would think would be best for me– a general degree. When I went specific when I was a psych major, I freaked out because I thought there’d be nothing for me.

Even though I’ve only officially changed my major once, there was a running joke for some reason with some people in my family that I can’t decide on a major so I change it all the time. While it is true that I can’t seem to land on one thing, something else is becoming more and more clear. It’s a verse that is used a lot and misused as a result:

Delight yourself in the LORD,
and he will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4

For years, I was delighting myself in myself and in what others thought. I know that playing the what-if game is dangerous. I know that what-if’s are stupid because if it was supposed to happen, it would have happened, but humor me. What-if, instead of pushing hard against math and science, I went to Georgia Tech or Southern Poly? What-if I became an engineer (probably civil or mechanical or something where I could take things apart to figure out how they work) and was *gasp* happy? Joyful, even? What-if I realized that I could reach a ton of people with this joy and started building things for people who didn’t have anyone to build for them?

I’m no idiot. I realize that joy does not come from circumstances; it comes from the Lord. But what if math and science are those desires answered? Or something technically minded. Some subject I can study that has a rhythm and a pattern or that requires me to use a part of my brain that isn’t all Englishy.

What if I hadn’t delighted in myself? What if I had delighted in Him?

What if?

Delight yourself in the LORD,
and he will give you the desires of your heart. Psalm 37:4

No regrets.

There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. Romans 8:1

That, my friends, is why I am a Tech fan.

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I’m a Georgia Tech fan

  1. Day says:

    You definitely know that the SEC is the only conference in the NCAA to me 🙂 but love this post. I’ve often thought about writing one on why I am NOT a MSU fan even though I went to school there. Maybe the next time someone asks will be my push to finally do it. miss you!

Leave a Reply

